Football: Top of Division 1

The OKC Football Club have bounced back in style this time round, following a disappointing 2012-13 season, in which the 1st XI were relegated from the Arthurian Premier League and the 2nd XI survived in Division 3 only through a last-day victory.

The 1st XI sit top of Division 1 with six victories and two draws from their eight games and have given themselves a great opportunity to bounce back to the top division of Arthurian League Football at the first attempt. Under the captaincy of Nick Perry, the team have played some good football with experienced players such as Jonny Corbett, Alex Nathanson, Dan Phipps, Andy Tyler, Rob Macdonald and Maz Tappuni linking well with young guns Alex Angel, Chris Wood, Ben Harries, Shaan Sripath and Tom McElligot. With tough return games against Aldenham, Westminsters and Repton still to come – as well as two games against second place Tonbridge – nothing is being taken for granted but the side will be looking to continue their good form after the mid-season break.

The 2nd XI are also enjoying a stellar season and were only denied being top of Division 3 at Christmas by a narrow defeat against fellow high-flyers Old Harrovians in December. Under the newly-formed leadership team Chris Tolley and Ramon Selvakumaran, the side has created a great atmosphere and, with several new players joining, the future is looking bright. In the second half of the season they will be looking to push for a promotion to Division 2, the highest level any 2nd XI can reach in the Arthurian League set-up.

You can keep abreast on the progress of both teams on the following link:

Finally, in others good news for the club, Club Captain Mike Tilles has been made captain of the Arthurian League Representative XI. The side is picked from players across the Arthurian Premier League and Division 1 and plays games against representative sides from The Amateur Football Combination, The Southern Amateur League, The London Legal League as well as Oxford and Cambridge Universities 1st XIs. Rob MacDonald and Jonny Corbett have also been selected to play for the team.